5 Place du Général Gouraud, 51000 Reims
Madame Louise Pommery, her maiden name Jeanne Alexandrine Louise Melin, widow of Louis Pommery winery resumes her husband in 1868 and bought a bigger space, 50 acres of land on the hill of St. Niçaise Reims, specifically on old chalk pits dug by the Gallo-Romans, in order to enlarge the area that thrives.
She initially build an industrial complex Tudor, neo-Elizabethan and a castle in 1875. Cellars are for their inaugurated and operational from 1878. La Maison Pommery grows, finds some success; resumed by Louise, daughter of Madame Pommery and her husband Guy de Polignac. The family retains ownership until the acquisition of the domain by the LVMH group in 1979. The Pommery then regrouped in 2002 with other houses to form the group Vranken-Pommery Monopole who climbed the world's second largest producer and marketing of bottles of Champagne. The cellars of Pommery area currently contains about 20 million bottles and older vintages of the house are extremely rare vintages. Each gallery cellar was baptized by Louise Pommery the names of customers from around the world. Visitors can walk the site, learn about the history of Pommery, and the development of Champagne, or contemplate a contemporary art exhibitions frequently proposed.