57 Rue de St Ahon, 33290 Blanquefort
Château Saint Ahon is classified “Remarkable Monument”. Destroyed during the French Revolution and rebuilt under the First Empire, it was finally restored in 1875 in the Louis XIII style by the architect Alphonse Blaquière. After 66 owners, the castle and its vineyard were finally bought in 1985 by Count and Countess Bernard de Colbert who were the descendants of the Chancellor of the Exchequer under Louis XIII.
Since 2003, their daughter and son-in-law have headed the property and turned to modern know-how, events, oenology and most of all well-reasoned growing which allow them to get a high environmental certification. In 2009, rural guest houses and reception room are inaugurated and the property wins a “Best of Wine Tourism” in “Event Organisation” category. In 2012, the property also wins the “Best of Wine Tourism Gold” in “Discovery and innovation” category thanks to its wine playful course in Mirabel gardens.